Area 88

Area 88 Series
Premiere: 2004
Sessons: 1
Full Episodes: 12
Watch Stream Online:
download Area 88
Full Show Summary

Area 88 is a Japanese manga series by Kaoru Shintani serialized between 1979 and 1986. The story is about a young pilot named Shin Kazama and his experiences at Area 88, a mercenary air force base secluded in the desert of a war torn country. Shin goes from head of his class at a world renowned aviation school dating the beautiful daughter of an airline president to a mercenary fighter pilot bound to Area 88 by a three-year contract that he was duped into signing by a jealous and competitive childhood friend. Determined to earn $1.5 million to buy his way out of the obligation and return home, killing becomes second nature to Shin as he quickly rises to the top rank at Area 88. Overwrought with shame and self-loathing for what he has become, Shin begins to question whether he is still fighting for survival, or like his fellow mercenaries, for the sheer excitement and camaraderie of battle. Area 88 was among the first three manga to be translated into English and published in North America. It has been adapted into a theatrical film, two anime series, the first an OVA originally published in 1985 and the latest, a 12-episode anime television series, which premiered across Japan on the anime television network Animax in 2005, and a video game, released in North America as U.N. Squadron. It is also a brand of model aircraft in Japan. While it appeals to aviation fans for its realistic depictions of aircraft and aerial combat it has also been critically acclaimed for its strong character development and Shintani's poignant storytelling, combining action, tragedy, romance, and comedy. In 1985, the manga received the Shogakukan Manga Award for shōnen.
Area 88 S01E12 Because of expenses related to his crash, Shin can't buy his freedom. Shinjou is expelled from the Area.
  • Episode Guide
  • Cast
Date Aired Area 88 Episodes
Season 1
08 January 2004 Season 1, Episode 1: Sky Blue - Desert Wings
15 January 2004 Season 1, Episode 2: Boris - Tombstone of the Setting Sun
22 January 2004 Season 1, Episode 3: Shin & Makoto - Finder of a Blue Sky
29 January 2004 Season 1, Episode 4: Desert - Skies of Betrayal
05 February 2004 Season 1, Episode 5: Lip Stick - Unyielding Rouge
12 February 2004 Season 1, Episode 6: Cross Over - Intersection of Solitude
19 February 2004 Season 1, Episode 7: Hungry Boy - Sweet Soldier
26 February 2004 Season 1, Episode 8: Sand Glass - Sand's Bullet
04 March 2004 Season 1, Episode 9: Canyon - Tightrope at the Speed of Sound
11 March 2004 Season 1, Episode 10: Fire Ball - Contrails of Destiny
18 March 2004 Season 1, Episode 11: Truth - Truth of the Sand
25 March 2004 Season 1, Episode 12: Lock On - Wings of the Wind