Garfield Morgan Biography

Birthday: 1931-04-19
Place of Birth: Birmingham, England
Wiki Biography: Garfield Morgan was born in Birmingham, England, in 1931. After a brief sojourn working as a trainee dental mechanic, he trained as an actor at a local drama school. His career began at the Arena Theatre in Birmingham in the fifties and he later became involved in both production and directing duties at The Marlow Theatre in Canterbury, Kent, and at The Library Theatre, Manchester. During the seventies he was Associate Director of Northgate Theatre and Associate Director of The Nottingham Playhouse. His television career began in the mid-fifties and although initially playing small parts, during the sixties he began to take on bigger roles, including the part of Detective Chief Inspector Lewis in the BBC's long-running "Softly Softly" (1966) series. He often played policemen but none more famous than DCI Frank Haskins in "The Sweeney" (1975), opposite John Thaw and Dennis Waterman, during the seventies, where he was an admirable foil to Thaw's brash, renegade Inspector Jack Regan. He was also a regular in other TV series such as "The Nineteenth Hole" (1989), "You Must Be the Husband" (1987) and "Shelley" (1979), all during the eighties, and "No Job for a Lady" (1990) opposite Penelope Keith in the nineties. He preferred acting on stage and in television so his film career was rather limited but he did have a decent role in The Odessa File (1974) in 1974. In his personal life, early on he was married to the actress Dilys Laye before it ended in divorce. After a short illness, Morgan died from cancer on December 5, 2009. His former wife died just a few months previously.

Garfield MorganPhotos & Pictures


TV Title Appeared As Year Genre
Judge Dee 1969
Menace Barnard / ... 1970 - 1973
Ghost Story Mr. A C Strain 1972 - 1973
West End Tales 1981 Comedy
You Must Be the Husband 1987 Comedy
The Nineteenth Hole 1989 Comedy
No Job for a Lady 1990 Comedy
Movies Title Appeared As Year Genre
Digby, the Biggest Dog in the World 1973
Henry VIII and His Six Wives 1973 Drama
The Odessa File 1974 Drama, Thriller
The Englishman Who Went Up a Hill But Came Down a Mountain 1995 0, 0
The New Gospels Himself - Narrator 1996 Music
28 Weeks Later Geoff 2007 Horror, Thriller