Ian Bannen Biography

Birthday: 1928-06-29
Place of Birth: Airdrie, Lanarkshire
Height: 5' 8" (1.73 m)
Wiki Biography: Scottish character actor and occasional leading man who enlivened scores of fine films in Britain and America. His father was a lawyer in a small town in Lanarkshire. Bannen served in the army and attended Ratcliffe College, Leicestershire. His first acting role came in a 1947 Dublin production of "Armlet of Jade". He became a successful figure on the London stage, making a name for himself in the plays of both William Shakespeare and Eugene O'Neill. He was an original member of the Royal Shakespeare Company and appeared on Broadway as well. His film debut occurred in the mid-1950s, and he quickly rose to prominence, primarily in a wide range of supporting roles. His performance as "Crow" in The Flight of the Phoenix (1965) won him an Oscar nomination as Best Supporting Actor. Thirty years and scores of films later, Bannen was given the Lifetime Achievement Award of the British Academy of Film and Television Arts. Long after his leading man days had passed, he won new acclaim for his role as the touchingly crafty villager in Waking Ned Devine (1998). The following year he died in an automobile accident. He was survived by his wife of 23 years.

Ian BannenPhotos & Pictures

Ian Bannen Ian Bannen Ian Bannen Ian Bannen Ian Bannen Ian Bannen


TV Title Appeared As Year Genre
Doomwatch 1970 - 1972 Mystery
Thriller (1973) Doonan 1973 - 1976
Doctor Finlay Dr. Alexander Cameron 1993 Drama
Movies Title Appeared As Year Genre
The Hill Sgt. Charlie Harris 1965 0
Too Late the Hero 1970 Action, Drama
The Offence 1972
The Mackintosh Man 1973 Thriller
Bite the Bullet Norfolk 1975 0
Un'ombra nell'ombra The Professor 1979 Horror
Night Crossing 1982 0, 0, 0
The Watcher in the Woods 1982 Family, Horror, Mystery
Gorky Park Iamskoy 1984 Drama, Thriller, Crime
Defense of the Realm Dennis Markham 1986 Thriller
Hope and Glory Grandfather George 1987
The Gamble Father of Francesco 1988 Comedy, History
The Courier McGuigan 1988 Action, Crime, Thriller
The Lady and the Highwayman 1989 Adventure, Drama, Romance
Superstition 2 Father Matthew 1989 Horror
Circles in a Forest MacDonald 1989 Adventure, Drama, History
Ghost Dad Sir Edith Moser 1990
Crossing the Line Matt Mason 1990 Crime, Drama, Sport
Speaking of the Devil Luzifer 1991 Comedy
George's Island Captain Waters 1991 Adventure, Drama, Family
A Pin for the Butterfly Grandpa 1994 Drama
Something to Believe In Don Pozzi 1998 Drama
Waking Ned Devine Jackie O'Shea 1998 Comedy
Best Sir Matt Busby 2000 Biography, Drama
Taliesin Jones Billy Evans 2000 Drama, Family
To Walk With Lions 2001 Adventure, Drama