Lena Olin Biography

Birthday: 1955-03-22
Place of Birth: Stockholm, Stockholms län Sweden
Height: 5' 11" (1.80 m)
Wiki Biography: Swedish-born Lena Olin already had a successful career as an actress before she came to Hollywood. She acted at the Royal Theatre in Stockholm and was directed by Ingmar Bergman. Her father, Stig Olin, was also an actor and played in six of Bergman's films. Lena also belongs to the Bergman "family". As a young actress, she played in the great classics of William Shakespeare, Henrik Ibsen and August Strindberg. She made her international debut as a movie actress in After the Rehearsal (1984) (TV) (aka "After the Rehearsal"), directed by Bergman. In western Europe, she became well-known in the political movie The Unbearable Lightness of Being (1988) as "Sabina", in a story about the Prague spring (1968). After coming to the US, she played mostly distinguished, exotic temptresses, intelligent women and crude vamps. Bergman had developed Lena's artistic gift to play different human emotions and express them in a subtle way. Sydney Pollack, director of Out of Africa (1985), rewrote the screenplay for Havana (1990/I) especially for her. This explains why this film recalls associations with the classic Casablanca (1942), starring Ingrid Bergman, also from Sweden. Olin received an Academy Award nomination for Best Supporting Actress for her role in Enemies: A Love Story (1989). She went on to have a choice role in Chocolat (2000), which received a Best Picture Oscar nomination, and received a Screen Actors Guild Award nomination. She made a move to the smaller screen and played the role for one season as the deliciously evil "Irina Derevko", the mother to Jennifer Garner's "Sydney Bristow" in the series "Alias" (2001). Olin received an Emmy nomination for Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Drama Series.

Lena OlinPhotos & Pictures

Lena Olin Lena Olin Lena Olin Lena Olin Lena Olin Lena Olin


TV Title Appeared As Year Genre
Casanova Andrea 2005 Adventure
Hit The Road Jack Lilith Beresford 2006 Adventure
Awake Lilith Beresford 2007 Crime
Stadsdokter, De Marybeth Fitzgerald 2011 Drama
Movies Title Appeared As Year Genre
A Matter of Life and Death Nadja Melander 1986 Drama
Flight North Karin 1987 Drama
The Unbearable Lightness of Being Sabina 1988 Biography, 0
Friends Sue 1988
s/y Glädjen Annika Larsson 1989 Drama
Enemies, a Love Story Masha 1989 Comedy, Drama, Romance
Havana Bobby Duran 1990
Mr. Jones 1993 0
Romeo Is Bleeding Mona Demarkov 1994 Crime, Drama, Thriller
The Night and the Moment 1995 Drama
Night Falls on Manhattan 1996 0, Game Show
Hamilton Tessie 1998 Action, Adventure, Crime
Polish Wedding Jadzia 1998 Comedy, Drama, Romance
The Ninth Gate Liana Telfer 1999 Reality Tv
Mystery Men 1999 Action, Comedy, Fantasy
Chocolat Josephine Muscat 2000 Biography, 0
Ignition Judge Faith Mattis 2002 Action, Drama, Thriller
Queen of the Damned Maharet 2002 Fantasy, Horror, Music
Hollywood Homicide Ruby 2003 Game Show, 0, 0
The United States of Leland 2005 Crime, Drama, Romance
Bang Bang Orangutang 2005 Drama
Casanova Andrea 2005 Adventure, Comedy, Drama
Awake Lilith Beresford 2007 Crime, Mystery, Thriller
Remember Me Diane Hirsch 2010 Drama, Romance
Hypnotisören Simone Bark 2012 Crime, Drama, Thriller
Quad Yevgeina 2013 Drama
Night Train to Lisbon Estefânia 2013 Game Show, Biography
The Devil You Know Kathryn Vale 2013 Mystery, Thriller