Maurice Denham Biography

Birthday: 1909-12-23
Place of Birth: Beckenham, Kent
Wiki Biography: Born in Beckenham, Kent, English character actor Maurice Denham first came to public notice in the 1940s on radio, appearing on many of the most popular comedy series of the day in a variety of characters. His debut in films came in 1947 with The Smugglers (1947). His talents came to the forefront in the animated feature Animal Farm (1954), in which he voiced all of the animal characters. A prolific actor, his familiar sharp features and bald head appeared in dozens of films over the following years, often as charming but slightly "balmy" characters and well-bred cads, although he was more than capable of playing straight drama, as he did in the war picture Sink the Bismarck! (1960) as a naval officer helping to hunt down and sink the German battleship. He began appearing regularly in television in the 1970s and also worked steadily on the stage. He died of natural causes at age 92 in London, England.

Maurice DenhamPhotos & Pictures


TV Title Appeared As Year Genre
Theatre 625 Edward 'Ted' Stevens - Father 1964 Drama
ITV Playhouse 1967 Comedy
Julia 1977 Drama
The Agatha Christie Hour Parker Pyne 1982 Crime
Wormwood Scrubs Billings 2010
All At Sea Crowley 2010
Movies Title Appeared As Year Genre
The Blind Goddess 1926
The Spider and the Fly Col. de le Roche 1931 Animation, Comedy
Blanche Fury 1948
23 Paces to Baker Street Inspector Grovening 1956
Sink the Bismarck! 1960 Action, Drama, History
Our Man in Havana 1960 Drama, Thriller, Comedy
Two-Way Stretch 1960 Comedy, Crime
The 7th Dawn 1964 Adventure, Drama
The Alphabet Murders Japp 1966 Crime, Mystery, Comedy
Torture Garden 1967
Some Girls Do 1969 Action, Adventure, Comedy
Sunday Bloody Sunday Mr. Greville 1971
Shout at the Devil 1976 Action, Adventure, Drama
Mr. Love Theo 1986 Comedy
Screenplay 1986
84 Charing Cross Road 1987 Drama, Romance
Tears in the Rain 1988 Drama, Romance
The Fool of the World and the Flying Ship 1990
El último viaje de Robert Rylands Hume 1996
Julia 2008 0