Peter Cushing Biography

Birthday: 1913-05-26
Place of Birth: Kenley, Surrey
Height: 5' 11½" (1.82 m)
Wiki Biography: Peter Wilton Cushing was born on May 26, 1913 in Kenley, Surrey, England. He and his older brother David were raised first in Dulwich Village, a south London suburb, and then later back in Surrey by his mother Nellie Marie and father George Edward, who was a quantity surveyor. At an early age, Cushing was attracted to acting, inspired by his favorite aunt, who was a stage actress. While at school, Cushing pursued his acting interest in acting and also drawing, a talent he put to good use later in his first job as a government surveyor's assistant in Surrey. At this time, he also dabbled in local amateur theater until moving to London to attend the Guildhall School of Music and Drama on scholarship. He then performed in repertory theater, deciding in 1939 to head for Hollywood, where he made his film debut in The Man in the Iron Mask (1939). Other Hollywood films included A Chump at Oxford (1940) with Stan Laurel and Oliver Hardy, Vigil in the Night (1940) and They Dare Not Love (1941). However, after a short stay, he returned to England by way of New York (making brief appearances on Broadway) and Canada. Back in his homeland, he contributed to the war effort during World War II by joining the Entertainment National Services Association. After the war, he performed in the West End and had his big break appearing with Laurence Olivier in Hamlet (1948), in which Cushing's future partner-in-horror Christopher Lee had a bit part. Both actors also appeared in Moulin Rouge (1952) but did not meet until their later horror films. During the 1950s, Cushing became a familiar face on British television, appearing in numerous teleplays, such as 1984 (1954) and Beau Brummell (1954), until the end of the decade when he began his legendary association with Hammer Film Productions in its remakes of the 1930s Universal horror classics. His first Hammer roles included Dr. Frankenstein in The Curse of Frankenstein (1957), Dr. Van Helsing in Horror of Dracula (1958), and Sherlock Holmes in The Hound of the Baskervilles (1959). Cushing continued playing the roles of Drs. Frankenstein and Van Helsing, as well as taking on other horror characters, in Hammer films over the next 20 years. He also appeared in films for the other major horror producer of the time, Amicus Productions, including Dr. Terror's House of Horrors (1965) and its later horror anthologies, a couple of Dr. Who films (1965, 1966), I, Monster (1971), and others. By the mid-1970s, these companies had stopped production, but Cushing, firmly established as a horror star, continued in the genre for some time thereafter. Perhaps his best-known appearance outside of horror films was as Grand Moff Tarkin in George Lucas' phenomenally successful science fiction film Star Wars (1977). Biggles: Adventures in Time (1986) was Cushing's last film before his retirement, during which he made a few television appearances, wrote two autobiographies and pursued his hobbies of bird watching and painting. In 1989, he was made an Officer of the Order of the British Empire in recognition of his contributions to the acting profession in Britain and worldwide. Peter Cushing died at age 81 of prostate cancer on August 11, 1994.

Peter CushingPhotos & Pictures

Peter Cushing Peter Cushing Peter Cushing Peter Cushing Peter Cushing Peter Cushing


TV Title Appeared As Year Genre
Pebble Mill at One 1973 Talk Show
Hammer House of Horror 1980 - 1980 Drama
Top Secret Bookstore Proprietor 1984 Action
The Restaurant Inspector 2011 Reality Tv
Fashion Star Himself 2012 Reality Tv
Pengene på bordet Harry Fordyce 2012 Family
Movies Title Appeared As Year Genre
A Chump at Oxford 1940 Comedy
Fear in the Night 1947
Alexander the Great 1956 0, 0, 0, Biography
Magic Fire Otto Wesendonk 1956 Drama
The Abominable Snowman Dr. John Rollason 1957
Time Without Pity 1957
The Curse of Frankenstein Victor Frankenstein 1957 Sci Fi, Horror, Drama
The Revenge of Frankenstein Doctor Victor Stein 1958 Reality Tv
Cone of Silence Capt. Clive Judd 1960
The Brides of Dracula Dr. J. Van Helsing 1960 Horror
The Naked Edge 1961
Sword of Sherwood Forest Sheriff of Nottingham 1961 Adventure
The Gorgon Dr. Namaroff 1964
The Evil of Frankenstein Baron Frankenstein 1964 Reality Tv
Dr. Who and the Daleks Dr. Who 1965
Island of Terror 1966
Daleks - Invasion Earth 2150 AD Dr. Who 1966 Sci Fi
Torture Garden 1967
Frankenstein Created Woman Baron Frankenstein 1967 Horror, Sci Fi
Frankenstein Must Be Destroyed Baron Frankenstein 1969 Reality Tv
The Blood Beast Terror 1969 Crime, Mystery, Horror
The Vampire Lovers General von Spielsdorf 1970
The House That Dripped Blood 1971
Dr. Phibes Rises Again 1972
Twins of Evil 1972
Dracula A.D. Professor Van Helsing 1972 Horror
Horror Express 1973
The Creeping Flesh 1973 Reality Tv
The Satanic Rites of Dracula Prof. Lorrimer Van Helsing 1973
The Legend of the 7 Golden Vampires 1974
Frankenstein and the Monster from Hell Baron Victor Frankenstein 1974 Horror
At the Earth's Core Dr. Abner Perry 1976
The Great Houdinis Sir Arthur Conan Doyle 1976 Drama
Star Wars Episode IV: A New Hope Grand Moff Tarkin 1977
Shock Waves 1977 Horror, Mystery, Sci Fi
Legend of the Werewolf 1978 Horror, Mystery
House of the Long Shadows Sebastian Grisbane 1983
The Masks of Death 1984
Top Secret! Bookstore Proprietor 1984 Action, Comedy, Romance
Sword of the Valiant: The Legend of Sir Gawain and the Green Knight 1984 Action, Adventure, Fantasy
The Lost Narrator 2006 Horror
Joe Strummer: The Future Is Unwritten Winston Smith 2007 0