Small Island

Small Island Series
Premiere: 2009
Network: BBC One
IMDB Rating: 7.1/10
Sessons: 1
Full Episodes: 2
Watch Stream Online:
download Small Island
Full Show Summary

In 1939 Hortense, illegitimate but intelligent and ambitious, is brought up on Jamaica with the family of charismatic, free-thinking Michael, who joins the Air Force when war breaks out and goes to England. After the war, Hortense, now a qualified teacher, makes a marriage of convenience to Gilbert Joseph, paying for his passage to England on condition he sends for her. She not only hopes to see Michael again but believes that living in Britain will give her more scope. When she arrives in London in 1948, she is extremely disappointed by the one room in which they must live and the obvious colour prejudice. Queenie, their liberal landlady, is also a woman used to disappointment, marrying decent but dull and sexless Bernard to get her away from the family farm. Whilst Bernard - now presumed missing - was in the Air Force during the war, she first took in lodgers from the armed forces, partly for the company, including Michael, with whom she had sex.
Small Island S01E02
Last Episode, 13 December 2009: Season 1, Episode 2: Episode 2
  • Episode Guide
  • Cast
Date Aired Small Island Episodes
Season 1
06 December 2009 Season 1, Episode 1: Episode 1
13 December 2009 Season 1, Episode 2: Episode 2