When We Left Earth: The NASA Missions

When We Left Earth: The NASA Missions Series
Premiere: 2008
IMDB Rating: 8.8/10
Sessons: 1
Full Episodes: 6
Watch Stream Online:
Full Show Summary

When We Left Earth: The NASA Missions or NASA's Greatest Missions: When We Left Earth in the UK is a Discovery Channel HD documentary miniseries consisting of six episodes documenting American human spaceflight, spanning from the first Mercury flights through the Gemini program to the Apollo moon landings, the Space Shuttle, and the construction of the International Space Station. It was created in association with NASA to commemorate the agency's fiftieth anniversary in 2008. It first aired on June 8, 2008, and concluded on June 22. Each airing consisted of two hour-long episodes. The miniseries was released on DVD on July 10, 2008, and was released on Blu-ray disc on August 12. The third episode, "Landing the Eagle", was re-aired on July 20, 2009 for the 40th anniversary of the Apollo 11 moon landing. It featured improved images from the moonwalk.
When We Left Earth: The NASA Missions S01E06 One of the most complex instruments ever built, the Hubble Space Telescope is expected to transform our understanding of the Universe. But once it is in orbit NASA discovers a serious problem, a defective main mirror. NASA sends a team of astronauts to fix the problem in its greatest and highest profile mission since the Apollo era.
  • Episode Guide
  • Cast
Date Aired When We Left Earth: The NASA Missions Episodes
Season 1
Season 1, Episode 1: Ordinary Supermen
Season 1, Episode 2: Friends and Rivals
Season 1, Episode 3: Landing the Eagle
Season 1, Episode 4: The Explorers
Season 1, Episode 5: The Shuttle
Season 1, Episode 6: Home In Space