Wild West

Wild West Series
Premiere: 2002 - 2004
Network: BBC One
Sessons: 2
Full Episodes: 12
Watch Stream Online:
download Wild West
Full Show Summary

Wild West is a situation comedy screened from October 2002 until 2004 (12 episodes) starring Dawn French and Catherine Tate. It was described as a dark comedy from the pen of Simon Nye and was filmed on location in Cornwall. Set in the hamlet of St Gweep, Wild West observes the strange goings-on in the local Cornish community. Shop owners Mary Trewednack and her life-partner Angela are the main focus but there are many other characters in this sitcom. The first series of the sitcom was scheduled to appear on prime-time BBC1 where its eccentricities met with a poo r critical and popular response, but a second series was commissioned and both series have received retrospective praise. Most of the sitcom was filmed in the village of Portloe in Cornwall. The action centre's around Angela (Tate) and Mary (French), a lesbian couple who run the local town store and post office. Though self-avowed lesbians, halfway through the first series Mary comments that the only reason they are a couple is because they were the only two people in town who weren't already in a relationship when they met. Some plots of first series episodes revolve around both of them pursuing romances with men and the jealousy the other partner experiences; by the second series, all mentions of a lesbian relationship are completely dropped, including a recurring gag during the opening credits that showed them in bed together. This is resolved in the final episode of the show. Mary and Angela are friends with the village locals, including Holly (Duff/Weaver), owner of the local witchcraft centre; Harry (Mylan,) a young local hippy; Old Jake (Bradley,) who runs the local boat tour; Jeff (Foley), a swinger and sexual deviant who owns the local pub with his deaf wife Daphne; and PC Alan Allen (Wright), the somewhat bumbling policeman who becomes Mary's major romantic interest in series 2. Each episode centers on a new situation that has come into the lives of the characters and how they deal with it, generally with a focus on the different ways in which Mary and Angela meddle in everyone's lives. more less
  • Episode Guide
  • Cast
Date Aired Wild West Episodes
Season 1
22 October 2002 Season 1, Episode 1: One Home Good, Two Homes Bad
29 October 2002 Season 1, Episode 2: Fear of Bungee
05 November 2002 Season 1, Episode 3: Swingers
19 November 2002 Season 1, Episode 4: Tin, Tin, Tin
26 November 2002 Season 1, Episode 5: A Problem Shared Is A Problem Doubled
03 December 2002 Season 1, Episode 6: Un, Deu, Tri, Figo, Quiggly
Season 2
12 March 2004 Season 2, Episode 1: The Exploding Car
19 March 2004 Season 2, Episode 2: Magical Horses
26 March 2004 Season 2, Episode 3: Angela Learns to Drive
02 April 2004 Season 2, Episode 4: Cornish Flu
09 April 2004 Season 2, Episode 5: Film Crew
16 April 2004 Season 2, Episode 6: Holly Loses Faith in Witchcraft